Posted by: timvanderveer | July 25, 2010

Stroll in the park

In the last week before a race, I always start doubting myself. Tapering means not doing a lot. Not doing a lot means my legs feel… errr, normal. It’s hard to believe that I am ready for a 50 miles foolish run over an Alp. Especially since trainer Rob is from the minimal school. Should I have done more?

I try to comfort myself with small fun runs. Yesterday I did some good sprinting when I passed some bushes and suddenly saw a naked man waving at me, but not with his hands… I tell you, it’s good to be a fast runner sometimes.

I also try to remember the 5389 times that I sprinted up the ramp near my house. Or the time when I was travelling for work to Oxford and did my 180 step ups on an inverted trash can at 7 am in my hotel room. Or the long runs in the Ardennes with some really silly steep climbs and being chased by farm dogs. Or the run up the Himalaya mountains. Have a look at the picture. Yes, I was there. Yes, I ran there. No, I am not crazy. Or maybe I am…

I guess that Bed and Sudip are now boarding the plane to Zurich. I can’t remember how many times I have flown. I still like taking off and looking over the clouds when they look like cotton. Travelling to Europe is the ultra for Bed and Sudip. As for me, I am trying to think that I have some vague appointment next Saturday. In my agenda it says: Stroll in the park.

Responses

  1. Keep faith in your training. You’ve worked damn hard to get to this point and I’m positive it will pay off on Saturday. Just don’t forget to take the day in and enjoy it. When it gets tough, just think about all the sweat and hard work you’ve invested – plus the cold beers waiting in the fridge afterwards!

  2. Thanks, Michael. I will do my best to enjoy it as much as I can. And those beers sound like a good mental focal point…

  3. Maybe we should consider carbo-loading with beer….. How exciting is this getting! I feel quite vague about this week. So many uncertainties. But i know you have out the effort in with your training, and that you can handle what you are about to undertake.


Leave a Reply

Categories

