Posted by: timvanderveer | July 16, 2010

Bad rehearsal, good performance

Here I am, at 21 kilometres during my last big training. Still looking smoothly, enjoying the Dutch polders on a sunny Thursday night.

After this glorious moment, things went bad. Having learnt that it’s best to eat as much as you can in the early hours of race, I practiced eating almost every 20 minutes. After two hours I started to feel nauseous. And in the last hour I could hardly eat or drink. Based on pure willpower (and the fact that I hadn’t any choice if I wanted get home), I managed to keep my pace steady and drink small sips of water. But hey, what a bad training. To make things worse, my calves were starting to burn.

You can’t believe how glad I was to collapse on a chair when I came home after 45 kilometres and 4.20 hours. After half hour of moaning, I took a beer and tried to kill the brain cells that are trying to remember this training.

This morning, I felt revived. At least, my recovery powers are good. A little analysis, has taught me that: 1. I should stick with eating every 45 minutes and not too much, 2. I need more rest before going on such a long run (already did 2 hill reps, 1 strength training). Tapering will do me good…

Well, you know what they say: bad rehearsal, good performance. I hope this is the case. Anyway, just by chance I encountered a peculiar animal along the run. One that Michael will remember very well. Not a good picture, but if you look closely, you’ll see two llamas. I hope that this is a good omen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

