Posted by: cousinsrj | July 5, 2010

Barefoot Running…..

What a debate this is at the moment. Knowing some people that own a running shop, I know just how silly shoe shopping can become – different stability, cushioning, colours, a gel bar in a different place, and oh the choice of shoe….. it all makes the act of getting out the door for a run even harder!

So it was interesting for me to arrive in Nepal and see people running in whatever was lying around, or Adidas copies, or some old cheap trainer an NGO was dishing out.   Anything.

And I didn’t find the knee, ankle, hip, back problems I see in Europeans.  How could this be? They have the same biomechanics in Nepal, only ‘naff’ shoes.

On living with Bed and Sudip for some time, I started to see that it wasn’t so much how they ran that had the greatest impact on this, it was how they lived. Nepalis send most of their time in jandals or barefoot. And they spend more time doing other things barefoot than they do running.

But ask them to run barefoot and no way! Too worried about their feet. Eventually, after much nagging, I got Bed and Sudip out on the grass for a barefoot run. And yes, their poor poor feet! Sore, aching, and a very slow pace for them. They landed heavily, had less spring, and their feet seemed very very weak.

It was a disaster! But I thought let’s persevere and see what happens, and thanks to Primal Lifestyle for stepping in to help with some 5 Fingers…..

Responses

  1. Barefoot Running?…..

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  2. So it’s not the running that goes barefoot, but the ‘everything else’. Interesting view, cousinsjr! Having to start all over again (just spend 2 months in hospital without running ofcourse), I’ll take the thought with me. Cheers!

  3. Well I can’t think of anything else….
    But seriously. If you spend 16 hours a day doing somethiing, and 2 hours a day running, surely the 16 hours has a greater impact on your llife than the other 2?
    Hope you’re doing well now out of hospital

  4. Aha, I see that the two of you have met. Vincent appears in my training log, Rob. And over a beer, I will tell you about his amazing recovery that beats the hell out of my amazing recoveries. Back to the topic… I agree, it matters most what you do during the day. As Jon Alexander recently mentioned to me: Aristotle said: we are what we do repetitively.

  5. The last sentence scares me, Tim. I spend a lot of my time sitting on my arse in an office bollocking rich kids. This makes me a lazy git with a thurst for authority way more than a
    ‘runner’ then. Yikes!


Leave a Reply

Categories

