Posted by: Jon Alexander | March 30, 2010

Inauspicious beginnings…

So as the project gets ready for its public launch, my physical fitness isn’t in the greatest of places.  I’ve got two broken ribs, and a niggling knee injury that’s fine except when I’m running on hills…  which obviously isn’t ideal just now.  But I’m still confident I’ll be able to get there.  In my eternally (some would say irritatingly) bullish approach to these things, I’ve decided it’s actually a positive – the fact that my ribs are broken means I can spend my time focusing on strengthening the leg without the temptation to go running.

My confidence is boosted further by the fact that the training programme Rob has sent us is a little less intense than I was perhaps expecting.  You can have a look at that here.  This represents far fewer hours than I put in for the Ironman, and Rob’s take seems to be that it’s as much about the leg strength as anything else.  And anyway, four months still to go, so plenty of time… right?!

Leave a Reply

Categories

